This page hosted by

Who Is Terry Franks?

My photograph

Yes, that's me - in one of my worse moments! I'm 68(ish), married with a grown-up son (Paul) and daughter (Julie), and I live in Worcester Park, Surrey. My daughter married in 1999 (to a very likeable computer programmer - computing must run in the family!) and in 2000 my son married a lovely Swedish girl from Boden in northern Sweden. Julie holds a Masters degree in Human Rights from London University and at present she is working for the charity Water Aid.

Family photo - May 2005 - click for an enlarged version     My son, having completed his PhD at Churchill College, Cambridge, spent a couple of years doing research into the genetics of diabetes in Phoenix, Arizona. In October 2005 they moved back to the UK for 6 months or so before Paul took up a new post at Umeå University, Sweden as Associate Professor of Experimental Medicine. Paul and Camilla had their first child, Phoenix Vilhelm, (who is also our first grandchild) on 12 January 2005 and their second son, Hunter Elias, on 16 December 2007. Click the photo to see an enlarged version. In 2010 Paul was appointed as a Professor at Lund University in Sweden and also an Adjunct Professor at Harvard University in the USA. Camilla is expecting their first duaghter in December 2010..

    I first got interested in computing in about 1979 or 1980. My first computer was a home-built one, and I can still remember the thrill of switching it on for the first time and finding that it actually worked. After that I got involved in computing at work, introducing the first personal computer to the department I was working in. At the time I was the only one with any knowledge (or interest) in personal computers so I became more and more involved with PCs. Eventually computers took over much of my time and I started training other people to use them and helping them to use their machines more effectively.

    By the time I was 50 my employers decided that no more training or assistance was needed and I was made redundant (they were very nice about it though). With only a small pension I needed more work and that's when I started teaching in Colleges - first at the Malden Centre in New Malden and later, for a while, also at The Richmond Adult & Community College. I retired in 2002.

    So there it is - my history in a very small nutshell. I still love working with computers and I hope that this came through in my teaching. I like to think that having learnt to use computers in a 'non-academic' way, I helped others to learn computing without assuming too much prior knowledge. I have been very heartebed to receive e-mails from several ex-students and any others who want to get in touch with me are welcome to .

    Since this is my personal page, I'm going to take the opportunity to share with you some of my wife's paintings and prints. She has been painting for more years than she cares to remember and has tried all sorts of media. Here are some of my favourites among those which we've managed to retain! You might also like to take a look at more of Christine's painting on her web site.


    My interests (apart from my family) now that I am retired are writing computer software and creating 3D virtual models for a railway simulator called Trainz (although most of this is done now purely for my own amusement). Click the banners below to go to the two web sites where I make these available to all-comers on the internet. I also enjoy photography and have put a few on my PicasaWeb page.

Trainzobjectz

TaFWeb Software





Last major revision: 2 February 2005 at 19:08 BST
Minor revisions: 18 September 2005 at 23:38 BST

This page URL: http://www.tafweb-trainz.co.uk/personal/index.html